SAIT Trojans women’s basketball team celebrate easy victory

The SAIT Trojans women’s basketball team celebrated a clean victory against the Medicine Hat Rattlers with a final score of 64-50.

The Trojans hosted the second game of the weekend on SAIT’s Campus Centre gym on Feb. 2.

Player of the game was announced at the end as number 10 guard, Kristen Monfort-Palomino, who earned a large portion of her teams’ three-pointers.

With less than a minute left in the first-quarter, Monfort-Palomino scored a three-pointer putting the score at 14-11, with the Rattlers leading. The Trojans were three points behind, but the score was soon to change in favour of the home team.

By the time the buzzer went off at the end of the second-quarter, forward Florence Oloya sunk a two-pointer putting the Trojans at a four-point lead ahead of the Rattlers (26-22).

For the rest of the game the Rattlers appeared to freeze up whenever they had the opportunity to shoot on the Trojans net.

Within the first 30 seconds of the third-quarter, Landace McClughan of Medicine Hat suffered a slight injury when she and another teammate collided.

Shortly after, Trojan Rachel Caputo scored a three-pointer bumping the score to 31-24 for the Trojans.

The third-quarter ended with the Trojans having produced a strong lead with a score of 40-32.

With less than five minutes left in the fourth-quarter, the scoreboard read 53-44 for the Trojans and they were about to get a last minute boost.

Within the last minute of the final quarter, Trojans Jasmine Bergen-Henengouwen scored a two-pointer, followed by Monfort-Palomino sinking a one-pointer, which upped the score to 62-50.

The final two points earned for the Trojans were by the hands of Sara Astorga, who sunk the ball in the final seconds of the game.

This was the third-last game for the SAIT Trojans women’s team schedule in the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference.

About Kyle Hauser 4 Articles
As a writing and communications major in the journalism program at SAIT, Kyle Hauser worked as a reporter for The Press during the 2013-2014 academic year.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.